Sunday, May 29, 2022
35.1 C
New Delhi

President Kovind confers 13 Shaurya Chakra awards, including six posthumously

New Delhi, May 10

President Ram Nath Kovind on Tuesday conferred 13 Shaurya Chakra awards, including six posthumously, to armed forces personnel while Army Chief Gen Manoj Pande received the Param Vishisht Seva medal.

The Shaurya Chakra is India’s third-highest peacetime gallantry award after the Ashok Chakra and Kirti Chakra.

The awards were conferred at a ceremony in Rashtrapati Bhavan.

The gallantry awards were given to the personnel for displaying conspicuous gallantry, indomitable courage and extreme devotion to duty, said an official statement.

The six personnel, who were conferred the Shaurya Chakra posthumously, were Captain Ashutosh Kumar of the 18th Battalion of the Madras Regiment, Havildar Anil Kumar Tomar of the Rajput Regiment, Havildar Pinku Kumar of the Jat Regiment, Havildar Kashiray Bammanalli from the Corps of Engineers, Naib Subedar Sreejith from the 17th Battalion of Madras Regiment and Sepoy Maruprolu Jaswanth Kumar Reddy, also from the 17th Battalion of the Madras Regiment.



Punjabi Khurki
Punjab is no longer just a state but a State of Mind: A way to live!! ...So Let's Burrraaah with Punjabi Khurki!

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles