22 leaders to nationally unveil Cong’s 2019 Lok Sabha manifesto

New Delhi, April 3: Starting Thursday, the Congress will unveil its 2019 Lok Sabha manifesto nationally with 22 leaders hand-picked for state-level outreach.

Former Law Minister Ashwani Kumar has been put in charge of the manifesto release in Chandigarh and Punjab and will be in the state on Thursday to release the document.

He will launch the manifesto in Chandigarh and later in Jalandhar.

Former minister Anand Sharma has been asked to launch the document in Mumbai; Kapil Sibal Bengaluru; Punjab Finance Minister Manpreet Badal Guwahati, Ghulam Nabi Azad Jammu; Sachin Pilot Jaipur and CMs Kamal Nath and Bhupesh Baghel in Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh, respectively.

In all 22 leaders will launch the Congress’ Lok Sabha pledge document across various locations on Thursday.

Ashwani Kumar, who had chaired a parliamentary committee that recommended the anti-torture Bill, said, “A nation does not live by bread alone. A nation also lives by a soul. The Congress through its manifesto has presented an alternative narrative to a muscular state of the BJP. Our manifesto promises a libertarian regime and we are sure wise people of a mature democracy will vote for liberal values of the country.”