Haryana votes May 12; Punjab, Himachal, Chandigarh on May 19

Chandigarh, March 11: Haryana will cast their votes in the May 12 election (sixth phase) for the 10 Lok Sabha seats in Haryana.

lok sabha elections 2019 Haryana votes May 12

Elections to 13 parliamentary constituencies in Punjab and four in Himachal Pradesh will be held in the seventh and the final phase on May 19. The results will be declared on May 23.

Haryana’s Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Rajiv Ranjan said photo electoral rolls prepared on the basis of January 1, 2019, as the qualifying date will be used. The state will have 19,425 polling stations, including 13,931 in the rural areas.

Chief Electoral Officer, Punjab, Dr S Karuna Raju said a total of 2.03 crore voters can cast their ballot in the state. As many as 96.2 lakh, out of the total, are female voters. Of the total 9.48 lakh youngsters in the age group of 18-19, as many as 2.56 lakh have registered themselves with the election office.

Punjab has only 393 NRI voters. The state will have a total of 23,213 polling stations at 14,460 locations. As many as 16,394 polling stations are in the rural areas.

In Himachal, more than 51.54 lakh voters are eligible to exercise their franchise to elect four Lok Sabha members. There has been an increase of more than 4.5 lakh voters during the past five years since 2014 polls.

A total of 7,723 polling booths will be set up, with the maximum 2,079 for Mandi Lok Sabha seat. The BJP had won all four seats in 2014.