Tuesday, March 28, 2023

Gurdaspur MP Sunil Kumar Jakhar of Congress


3.3/5 - (3 votes)


Gurdaspur MP Sunil Kumar Jakhar of Congress

Sunil Kumar Jakhar

Gurdaspur Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 13 Lok Sabha (parliamentary) constituencies in Punjab state in northern India. The incumbent MP is Sunil Jakhar from INC.

Gurdaspur is presently represented in the Parliament by seasoned Congress politician Sunil Kumar Jakhar October 2017. This constituency fell into Congress’ kitty due to the death of Vinod Khanna of Bharatiya Janata Party, who had been the MP of Gurdaspur consecutively.

Also Read: Patiala MP Dharamvir Gandhi of Aam Aadmi Party


Gurdaspur Lok Sabha Constituency

Lok Sabha Elections 2014

In the General elections held in 2014, Gurdaspur returned its sitting MP Vinod Khanna of the Bharatiya Janata Party. He beat Congress’ Partap Singh Bajwa by over a lakh votes by polling 482255 as against 346190 polled by Bajwa. Sucha Singh Chotepur of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) came third with 173376 votes.

The death of the BJP MP Vinod Khanna necessitated a by-election in 2017. Sunil Kumar Jakhar of the Congress polled 499752 votes, defeating Swaran Salaria of the BJP (306553) and Suresh Kumar Khajuria polled 23579 votes.

Know Your Constituency

Presently, Gurdaspur Lok Sabha constituency comprises of nine Vidhan Sabha (legislative Assembly) segments.

Seven of the nine constituencies in Pathankot Parliamentary constituency are represented by Indian National Congress – Amit Vij (Pathankot) Aruna Chaudhary (Dina Nagar) Fatehjang Singh Bajwa (Qadian) Tripat Rajinder Singh Bajwa (Fatehgarh Churian) Sukhjinder Singh Randhawa (Dera Baba Nanak) Barindermeet Singh Pahra (Sujanpur) Joginder Pal (Bhoa).




Punjabi Khurki
Punjabi Khurki
Punjab is no longer just a state but a State of Mind: A way to live!! ...So Let's Burrraaah with Punjabi Khurki!

Share post:




More like this