Monday, January 24, 2022
12.1 C
New Delhi

Congress-led Opposition to boycott Rajya Sabha over suspension of 12 MPs; govt defends suspensions

New Delhi, November 30

The Congress-led opposition will boycott proceedings of the Rajya Sabha on Tuesday in protest against the suspension of 12 MPs on Monday.

Congress chief whip in Rajya Sabha Jairam Ramesh confirmed the decision saying, “All opposition parties, including TMC and BSP walked out of Rajya Sabha and won’t attend proceedings today to protest against the manner in which 12 MPs were suspended for entire session, and farm bills were passed undemocratically and then repealed undemocratically. Those who raise their voices have been suspended. This is New India.”

The decision to boycott was taken at a morning meeting of opposition parties which the TMC did not attend.

The 16 party attendees at the meeting were the INC, DMK, Shiv Sena, NCP, CPM, CPI, RJD, IUML, MDMK, LJD, NC, RSP, TRS, Kerala Congress, VCK and AAP.

The opposition decided not to apologise for their misconduct on the last day of the monsoon session, August 11, 2020.

The government in a motion on Monday cited MPs’ misconduct to move a motion to suspend them for the remainder of the session.

The government also rejected the opposition charges of selective action saying the suspensions pertained to MPs’ misconduct on the last day of the session, and suspensions were done at the first available opportunity which was the first day of the Winter Session on Monday.



Punjabi Khurki
Punjab is no longer just a state but a State of Mind: A way to live!! ...So Let's Burrraaah with Punjabi Khurki!

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles