Punjab Cong list 2: Ghubaya from Ferozepur, Warring from Bathinda

New Delhi, April 20: Congress on Saturday announced its candidates for Ferozepur and Bathinda Parliamentary seats. Ghubaya from Ferozepur…

While Sher Singh Ghubaya is the party’s candidate from Ferozepur, young firebrand MLA Amarinder Singh Raja Warring will fight from Bathinda. Ghubaya, who won Ferozepur seat in 2014 general elections, is a former leader of Shiromani Akali Dal who joined the Congress on March 5.

Warring is currently a Congress Member of Legislative Assembly from Gidderbaha.

Congress came out with its first six-name list earlier this month, in which only the confirmed candidates were announced.

The sitting MPs include Sunil Jakhar (Gurdaspur), Ravneet Bittu (Ludhiana), Santokh Choudhary (Jalandhar), Gurjit Singh Aujla (Amritsar) and Raj Kumar Chhabewal (Hoshiarpur). Preneet Kaur’s candidature has been a foregone conclusion and she will contest from parent city Patiala.
Punjab has 13 parliamentary seats. The state is scheduled to vote in the last phase of ongoing general elections on May 19. Votes will be counted on May 23.