Chandigarh, February 9: The Bahujan Samaj Party on Saturday called off its nearly nine-month-old alliance with Haryana’s main opposition INLD and announced to forge ties with LSP, an outfit floated by rebel BJP MP Raj Kumar Saini.

The development comes days after Om Prakash Chautala-led Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) suffered a humiliating defeat in the Jind bypoll, with party candidate Umed Singh Redhu forfeiting his security deposit, amid the ongoing family feud in the Chautala family.

“On the directions of BSP national president and former UP chief minister Mayawati, the BSP on Saturday ends alliance with the INLD and ties up with the Loktantra Suraksha Party (LSP),” BSP Haryana incharge Meghraj told reporters here.

Under the new arrangement, the BSP and the LSP will contest the upcoming Lok Sabha elections and Haryana Assembly polls.

In Haryana, the BSP will contest on eight and the LSP on two Lok Sabha seats, Meghraj said.

He said his party would contest on 35 seats and the LSP on 55 seats during the Haryana Assembly polls.

The BSP had on Friday hinted that it might soon call off its alliance with the INLD. It had earlier also said that it would part ways with the INLD if it failed to get united.

Following family feud in the Chautala clan, Ajay Chautala and his two sons Dushyant Chautala and Digvijay Chautala had floated the Jannayak Janata Party last year.

Saini, a rebel BJP MP from Kurukshetra, had last year floated his Loktantra Suraksha Party and the candidate fielded by him in the Jind bypoll had put up a better performance than INLD’s Redhu.

The ruling BJP had won the Jind bypoll while Digvijay Singh Chautala, the candidate of the Jannayak Janata Party, had finished runners-up.

The INLD and the BSP had entered into an alliance in April last year, which both ruling BJP and opposition Congress had described as a “marriage of convenience: which they entered into just to “grab power” in the state.

After forging the alliance, the two parties had announced to jointly contest the 2019 Lok Sabha and Assembly polls.

(Sourced from The Tribune)




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here