Wednesday, May 31, 2023

Bathinda MP Harsimrat Kaur Badal of Shiromani Akali Dal


4/5 - (4 votes)


Bathinda MP Harsimrat Kaur Badal of Akali Dal

Bathinda MP Harsimrat Kaur Badal

Bathinda Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 13 Lok Sabha (parliamentary) constituencies in Punjab. Bathinda is represented by Harsimrat Kaur Badal of Shiromani Akali Dal. She is the daughter-in-law of Punjab’s patriarch Parkash Singh Badal and the wife of Akali Dal president Sukhbir Singh Badal. Her brother Bikram Singh Majithia has been a minister in the erstwhile Punjab Assembly.

Bathinda constituency has primarily been the bastion of the Akali Dal, it being the home turf of the Badals with their village Lambi forming a part of this constituency.


Bathinda Lok Sabha Constituency

Lok Sabha 2014

Harsimrat Kaur Badal was elected as Bathinda MP for the second time, having represented the Constituency in 2009 too. In the 2014 General Elections, Harsimrat Kaur Badal beat her nearest rival Manpreet Singh Badal of the Indian National Congress by a narrow margin. While Harsimrat polled 514727 votes (43.7% vote share), Manpreet Badal got 495332 (42% vote share). Jasraj Singh Longia trailed in the third position with 87901 votes.

Know the Constituency

Bathinda Lok Sabha constituency comprises 9 Vidhan Sabha (legislative assembly) constituencies. For 2012 assembly elections, some of the segments were redrawn. Maur, Bhucho Mandi, Bathinda Rural, and Talwandi Sabo are the new constituencies.

Bhucho Mandi

  • 2017: Pritam Singh Kotbhai (Cong)
  • 2012: Ajaib Singh Bhatti
  • 2007: Ajaib Singh Bhatti (Nathana)

Bathinda Urban

  • 2017: Manpreet Badal (Cong)
  • 2012: Sarup Chand Singla
  • 2007: Harminder Singh Jassi
  • 2002: Happy Khurana
  • 1997: Amar Verma

Bathinda Rural

  • 2017: Rupinder Kaur Ruby (AAP)
  • 2012: Darshan Singh Kotfatta
  • 2007: Makhan Singh
  • 1997: Makhan Singh

Talwandi Sabo

  • 2017: Baljinder Kaur (AAP)
  • 2012: Jeet Mohinder Singh Sidhu
  • 2007: Jeet Mohinder Singh Sidhu
  • 2002: Jeet Mohinder Singh Sidhu


  • 2017: Jagdev Singh (AAP)
  • 2012: Janmeja Singh Sekhon


  • 2017: Nazar Singh Manshahia (AAP)
  • 2012: Prem Mittal
  • 2007: Sher Singh Gagowal
  • 2002: Sher Singh Gagowal
  • 1997:


  • 2017: Dilraj Singh (SAD)
  • 2012: Ajit Inder Singh Moffar
  • 2007: Ajit Inder Singh Moffar
  • 2002: Balwinder Singh Bhundar
  • 1997: Ajit Inder Singh Moffar


  • 2017: Budh Ram (AAP)
  • 2012: Chatin Singh
  • 2007: Mangat Rai Bansal
  • 2002: Harwant Singh Datewas


  • 2017: Parkash Singh Badal (SAD)
  • 2012: Parkash Singh Badal
  • 2007: Parkash Singh Badal
  • 2002: Parkash Singh Badal
  • 1997: Parkash Singh Badal



Punjabi Khurki
Punjabi Khurki
Punjab is no longer just a state but a State of Mind: A way to live!! ...So Let's Burrraaah with Punjabi Khurki!

Share post:




More like this

Aman Arora felicitates 300 govt school students who excelled in board exams

Chandigarh/Sunam Udham Singh Wala, May 30: Cabinet Minister Mr Aman...

B.SC agriculture course to be resumed in govt Barjindra college Faridkot form this session

Chandigarh, May 30: Punjab Vidhan Sabha Speaker S. Kultar Singh...

Demands of PSPCL and PSTCL pensioners will be sympathetically considered: Harbhajan Singh ETO

Chandigarh, May 30: The legitimate demands of the pensioners of...