Sunday, August 14, 2022
27.1 C
New Delhi

Amritsar MP Gurjeet Singh Aujla of Indian National Congress

5/5 - (1 vote)


Amritsar MP Gurjeet Singh Aujla

Gurjeet Singh Aujla

Amritsar Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 13 Lok Sabha (parliamentary) constituencies in Punjab. Amritsar MP Gurjeet Singh Aujla.

Amritsar Lok Sabha constituency is currently represented in the Lower House by Gurjeet Singh Aujla of Indian National Congress. Aujla won the by-election, necessitated by the victory of current Punjab Chief Minister Capt Amarinder Singh in the Assembly elections of 2017. He polled 501853 votes to beat Rajinder Mohan Singh Chhina of the BJP who polled a total of 308964.

Before that, it had been held by Navjot Singh Sidhu of the Bharatiya Janata Party in 2004 and 2009, but he joined Congress and Capt Amarinder Singh contested from here in the Lok Sabha elections of 2014.

The current Union Minister of Finance Arun Jaitley, unsuccessfully contested from this constituency for the BJP in 2014.

Amritsar Lok Sabha Constituency

Lok Sabha 2014

Capt Amarinder Singh of Indian National Congress (INC) contested from this Parliamentary constituency in the 2014 general elections. He defeated Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) stalwart Arun Jaitley by polling 482876 votes as against 380106 polled by Jaitley.

Dr Daljit Singh of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) bagged 82633 votes and Amarjit Singh Asal of the Communist Party of India (CPI) polled 12902 to come on the fourth spot.

Also Read: Oppn in disarray, Cong confident of winning all 13 seats in Punjab

Know the Constituency 

Amritsar Lok Sabha constituency comprises nine Vidhan Sabha (legislative assembly) segments, which are


Harpartap Singh


Bikram Singh Majithia, Shiromani Akali Dal

Amritsar North

Sunil Dutti, Indian National Congress

Amritsar West

Raj Kumar Verka, Indian National Congress

Amritsar Central

Om Parkash Soni, Indian National Congress

Amritsar East

Navjot Singh Sidhu, Indian National Congress

Amritsar South

Inderbir Singh Bolaria, Indian National Congress


Tarsem Singh D. C., Indian National Congress



Punjabi Khurki
Punjabi Khurki
Punjab is no longer just a state but a State of Mind: A way to live!! ...So Let's Burrraaah with Punjabi Khurki!

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles